Community Broadcasting Licences

The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa ("the Authority/ICASA") has concluded its initial evaluation of applications to pre-register for Community Sound Broadcasting Service and Radio Frequency Spectrum licences for the provision of community sound broadcasting services.

The Authority received one hundred and five (105) applications in response to the Invitation to Pre-register ("ITP-R"), which was issued on December 15, 2021. Of the 105 applications received, fifty-six (56) applications  have met the prequalification  criteria and are admitted to Phase 1 of the ITP-R licensing process 

The list of applicants that have have qualified for phase one of the process are available on this link

Title Publish Date Gazette Number Download
Title Publish Date Gazette Number Download
Notice for received applications to Pre Register for CSBS amd RFS Licenses for Multiplex 1 frequencies 2023-02-06 47981
No. Registrant

Trading Name

District Municipality
 2 Bona Lesedi Early Chilhood  Tshedimosetso FM  NW  Ngaka Modiri Molema District 
 2 Bophirima FM  Bophirima FM  NW  Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District 
 3  Bulungulu Incubator  Bulungula Community Radio EC  Amathole District 
4  Burgersdorp Community Radio Association  Radio Unique EC Joe Gqabi District
5 Cape Winelands  Cape Winelands FM  FM Cape Winelands District 
6 Capital FM Youth Radio   Capital FM GP  City of Tshwane Metro
 7 Cofimvamba FM  CFM EC  Chris Hani District
 Dicla Radio NPC  Dicla Radio EC Chris Hani District 
DYR FM NPC   Gold Coast FM KZN  iLembe District
 10  East High College of Excellence Mbombela FM  MP  Ehlanzeni District
 11 Elim Community Radio FM  Elim Community Radio FM (ECRRFM)  LP  Vhembe District 
 12 Flare FM  Flare FM  MP  Nkangala District 
13  GAP Standers Network  Royal 89.6 FM  KZN  Harry Gwala District 
14  GM FM 89.7 MHz NPC   GM 89.7 MHz FM MP  Nkangala District 
15  Helping Hand Foundation   Injection FM LP  Sekhukhune District 
16  Hlanganani FM  Hlanganani FM  LP  Vhembe District 
17  Hospice Bloemfontein NPC   Wellness FM FS Mangaung Metro 
 18 Ikhala Community Radio NPC   Ikhala Community Radio  EC  Sarah Baartman District 
19  Ikhaya Community Radio NPO  Ikhaya Community Radio Station NC Pixley Ka Seme District 
 20 Ikhwelo Youth Radio  IYR  EC  Chris Hani District 
21  Illembe Media and Production   Ilembe FM KZN iLembe District 
 22 It takes a Village 2018  Tsantsi FM  NC ZF Mgcawu District 
23  Ithuthuko Arts Group   Heidelberg FM  GP  Sedibeng District 
 24 Izwe Lethemba Christian Community Radio   Izwe Lethemba FM EC Buffalo City Metro 
 25 Knowledge Community Care NPC  Knowledge FM 104.8 MHz  LP Mopani District 
26  Kunene Foundation After School Care  Wiggle Tunes  MP Ehlanzeni District
27  Maboloka HIV/AIDS Organisation  Maboloka Community Radio  NW  Bojanala Platinum District 
28   ManMade Radio PTY (LTD)/Spekboom Foundation NPC ManMade FM  EC  Nelson Mandela Bay Metro
29  Mbashe Community Radio Station  Mbashe FM  EC Amathole District
 30 Mfanaomhle Foundation NPC   Love FM KZN uMgungundlovu District 
 31 Mpumelelo Sport and Culture Experience  Midlands FM   KZN uMgungundlovu District
 32 Mukonazwothe Community Broadcaster Mukona Christian Radio  LP  Vhembe District 
33  Ngwakwethu Community Empowerment (NPO) Good Life Radio   GP  City of Tshwane Metro 
34  Nkungumathe FM NPO  Nkungumathe FM KZN  King Cetshwayo District
35  One Future Development 49  Koepel Stereo  FS Fezile Dabi District 
 36 Patrick Shai Foundation NPC   Mopani FM LP Mopani District 
 37 PE FM NPC  PE FM  EC Nelson Mandela Bay Metro
 38 Phelelos Entertainment NPC  Kagisano FM  NW  Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District 
 39 Radio Karero  Radio Karero  NW  Ngaka Modiri Molema District 
40 Radio Zones NPC  Radio Zones  LP Capricorn District 
 41 Ramatlaohles Foundation NPC Ramatlaohles Foundation NPC  LP  Waterberg District
42 Rising Sun Foundation Rising Sun FM  MP  Ehlanzeni District 
 43 Robertson Tourism Bureau  Cape Central FM  WC  Cape Winelands District 
44 Sibasa Community Radio  Sibasa FM  LP   Vhembe District
45  Sizonqoba Community Development and Empowerment Khanya Youth Radio  KZN uThukela District 
 46 The Winning Team Youth Development   Roswika Community Radio Station LP Vhembe District 
 47 Tshepho Ya Setshaba Community NPO  Tshepho FM  LP Capricorn District 
48 Voice Yomphakati FM  Voice Yomphakati FM  KZN  eThekwini Metro 
 49 West Rand Youth Development  Baagi FM  GP West Rand District 
 50 Workhorse Foundation Lentswe FM  FS Fezile Dabi District 
51 Xirimela Media Communications  Park RadYa Mo Gae FMio 
LP Vhembe District
 52 Ya Mo Gae FM   Ya Mo Gae FM
FS  Mangaung Metro
 53 Zamasozabe NPO Ndwedwe Community Radio  KZN  iLembe District
 54  Zibonele FM NPC  Zibonele FM WC City of Cape Town Metro 
 55 Zululand Radio NPC   Zululand FM KZN Zululand District 
 56 Phalaborwa 105 FM  Phalaborwa 105 FM  LP Sekhukhune District 

Representations with respect to applications that are admitted to Phase 1

The Authority has invited interested parties to submit written representations with respect to the applications that are admitted to Phase 1 of the ITP-R licensing process within fourteen (14) working days from the date of publication of the Notice. The representations are intended to, among other things, ascertain whether there are any objections to the applications in any particular municipality; this will also help and empower ICASA to ensure that it licences organisations that will effectively serve as tools for empowerment in their respective communities.

Following this, the respective applicants will have the opportunity to respond in writing to the written representations put forth by interested parties. Such written responses must be submitted to the Authority within twenty-eight (28) working days after the Authority publishes a Notice in the Government Gazette.

All written representations, responses, and other correspondence in terms of the published Notice must be directed to Mr Pascalis Adams, Project Manager: ITP-R Community Sound Committee via email at OR via delivery at Block B, 350 Witch-Hazel Avenue, Eco Point Office Park, Eco Park, Centurion OR via registered post to Private Bag X10, Highveld Park, 0169.

For enquiries, please contact Mr Pascalis Adams at (012) 568 4085 or