ICASA Council

The ICASA Council is the highest decision making body of the Authority and consist of eight members and the Chairperson. In terms of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Act, No. 13 of 2000 [as amended by Broadcasting Amendment Act, No 64 of 2002 and Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Act, No 2 of 2014]; ICASA councillors are appointed by the minister on the recommendation of the National Assembly according to the following principles:

a)     participation by the public in the nomination process;

b)     transparency and openness; and

c)     the publication of a shortlist of candidates for appointment

Persons appointed to the Council must be committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability and must be representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic and possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, amongst others, broadcasting and telecommunications policy, engineering, technology, frequency band planning, law, marketing, journalism, entertainment, education, economics, business practice and finance or any other related expertise or qualifications.