Postal services

ICASA is the official regulator of the South African postal services, broadcasting and telecommunications sectors.

In terms of the Postal Services Act, No. 124 of 1998, ICASA has to licence and monitor the South African Post Office (SAPO) in relation to customer-care standards and universal service obligations. This includes the roll-out of street addresses and the provision of retail postal services in under-serviced areas.

ICASA's strategic objectives are in line with those of the policy framework of the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services (DTPS) namely providing an efficient, competitive and responsive economic infrastructure network.

Postal licensing procedure

Currently, SAPO is the only reserved postal service licensee. For an unreserved postal service certificate, an application can be lodged with ICASA at any time by completing this form (also available as form A in the Unreserved Postal Services Regulations published on 08 January 2010 in Government Gazette No. 32859).

A copy of your business plan, founding documents, proof of entity’s registration, and proof of payment of a non-refundable application fee of R1000.00 – which must be paid into ICASA’s bank account – must be included in the application. A registration certificate is valid for a period of three years from the date of issue. In addition of to an application fee of R1000.00 an annual amount of R5000.00 for registration is payable by all operators.

View the postal act
View postal regulations